London Photo Festival & London Photo Gallery

Reaches the parts other photography blogs don't…

Where are they now? Nico Goodden f/Factor winner 2011

Leave a comment

A little over 3 years in photography, the inaugural London Photo Festival back in October 2011 was my first chance to exhibit my work.
The cost was reasonable and the organization was professional and I found it to be a real stepping stone. It was encouraging that my photo, Anatomica, received the f/Factor or public vote for best in the show.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As a first opportunity to showcase my work it taught me how to choose the right piece to exhibit, how to choose a printing company as there are so many out there and how to price your work. Seeing the reactions of people to your work is also great, or sometimes the lack of reaction, either way it tells you a lot. You can’t learn this when showing your work online. Whatever the outcome, it’s a lesson.

Since then I have worked hard to develop a large portfolio of quality photographs as well as a professional looking website. I have a very strong social media campaign mainly via Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and a blog. All this, plus many well crafted emails, has put my work in front of people in the industry who decided to believe in my potential and helped, most of the time because I had the courage to simply ask.

February 2013, about 14 months later, I had my first solo show which lasted 6 weeks, then had another one in the summer sponsored by Olympus and since lots of features including Londonist, ViewLondon, Olympus Magazine, Street Photography Magazine and many more.

I’m only 5 years into my photographic journey and can’t imagine what this year has in store for me.

So go on, get your work out there, don’t wait for anyone to make decisions for you, don’t waste time wondering if you should.

Life’s too short and the worse that can happen are regrets for never doing it.

Nico is now running:

http://www.streetphotographylondon.co.uk/
http://www.nicholasgooddenphotography.co.uk

Leave a Reply

