London Photo Festival & London Photo Gallery

Reaches the parts other photography blogs don't…

Success Story: Previous #London #Photo #Festival exhibitor Chris Gravett #photography #LPF #Nepal #CrowdFunder @LeFlic17

Leave a comment

I met Emma and Kit just before London Photo Festival was first launched. It was 2011 and I had recently given up my day job to become a photographer full time, well actually a photography student (mature). Taking part as an exhibitor in those first exhibitions gave me first hand experience of exhibiting, selling my work and more importantly introduced me to a new broad network of London photographers, critics and media. Emma and Kit were always accommodating and flexible in their support. I can honestly say the London Photo Festival experiences helped me a great deal in my development as a documentary photographer

After four years of studying photography at the University of Westminster as a mature student I have recently graduated with a 1st ( exceeding all my expectations). I am now embarking on my new career as a documentary/social documentary photographer. In 2013/14 I completed a project “Twenty Days Later” – a short video and exhibition on the aftermath of the Rana Plaza building collapse in Savar, Bangladesh. My film was adopted by the Bangladesh Accord an organisation working to improve conditions in Bangladesh’s garment industry. The success of that project encouraged me to focus on documentary photography.

I have now embarked on a project to document the impact of aid agencies six months after a series of earthquakes struck Nepal. I am self funding the project as without a track record gaining commissions is quite a challenge. Hopefully exposure from this project and publication of my book “Gravette The Heart of Hometown America” in 2016 will ultimately establish a level of personal credibility enabling me to secure commission/financial backing for future projects.
In the meantime I am hoping to raise a contribution to the cost of Project Nepal through a CrowdFunder.
So I am inviting you (or your company) to be part of the project, an opportunity to pledge support for the project and receive rewards for doing so.
Please take a moment to checkout Chris’ project: http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/nepal-six-months-later and we wish him the best of luck in his future career as a documentary photographer and hope he still visits us at the LPF!
chris
Leave a Reply

