We speak to Best in Show winner @iamHenryRice #photography #London #londonphotofestival

A question that has amused me: if it’s more enjoyable to take a photo or to show it?

I entered Osaka into the London Photo Festival, the first time this image has ever been seen in public. When I left university last year, I then went on a trip across Japan and South Korea, while travelling I continued a body of work entitled “Mapping” which explored the memory of a place using photos from the same location and day. The body of work came about when I was trying to find an image to use as my screen saver that encapsulated a trip to Canada I when on and no one image could achieve this. I then weaved several images together and eureka! When I saw the London Photo Festival with the theme of travel it seemed perfect.

When you’re an emerging artist trying to make a living out of what you do and love it, it can be incredibly difficult. Photographers who are already established have networks to get new work out to the public. The London Photo Festival provided an invaluable service, to allow for those images that photographers are excited and confident about to be enjoyed by the public. I think this is one of the biggest hurdles to overcome if you’re trying to make photography a career. This is a chance to exhibit in London, the vibrant pulsating heart of the UK, and one of the world’s most renowned cities. The show is nestled in a beautiful part of central London, the exhibition itself was inside the crypt of St George the Martyr’s Church, a quirky setting contrasting the old architecture with the clean white walls of the gallery space.

To be selective as Best in Show is a fantastic feeling, it was my birthday and I was with my family and friends, then to be told I had won Best in Show was a massive surprise. It’s great to be part of a show where the quality is so high and makes you feel even more proud to be achieve Best in Show. I have been given an impressive supply of Awagami Paper that I have a couple of idea that could use this material that I think will be quite wired, but I think people will get a buzz from it.

I encourage photographers to be bold, go out and try any opportunity that is available. As you you can’t predict where it will take you.

 

If you enjoy my work please look at my website

follow me on Instagram and twitter to see any updates of my work

www.henryrice.co.uk

@thedustyjar  Instagram

@iamhenryrice   Twitter

Henry Rice       Pintrest

Leave a comment